

Board of Transportation Safety Meeting Minutes

02/04/10 **DRAFT**

VDOT, Richmond, Virginia

Chair: Walter Yeatts Recording Secretary: Audrey Odum

Board Members Walter Yeatts, Bruce Wingo, Dee Bowles, Seldon Rhodes,

Present: Rebecca Martin, Allen Muchnick, Charles Quillin, Richard Baugh

Board Members

Absent: Paulette Benson, Tom McGrath, Charles Rosemond

DMV Staff: David Mitchell, John Saunders, Audrey Odum, Angelisa Jennings,

Eula Moore-Anderson, Bruce Biondo,

Special Guest(s): DMV's Commissioner Richard Holcomb

Lorraine Novak – NHTSA Regional Program Manager

Chair Walter Yeatts called meeting to order and thanked everyone for attending. The Chair recognized NHTSA Representative Lorraine Novak and thanked her for attending. The Chair expressed appreciation for the confidence the Board offered in selecting him as the new Chair for the Board.

DMV Deputy Commissioner and Secretary to the Board David Mitchell followed with welcoming remarks and thanked the Board for taking time out of their busy schedules to attend and support the Commonwealth. He discussed the new administration and gave a brief overview of DMV's new Commissioner Richard Holcomb and the new Secretary of Transportation Sean Connaughton.

Public Comment - None

Board Business

Chair Walter Yeatts asked Secretary to the Board, David Mitchell to call roll. Representation was sufficient for a quorum.

Chair Walter Yeatts asked the Board for approval of the minutes from the October 2009 meeting. Approved with no amendments.

DMV's Commissioner Richard Holcomb stopped in for introductions and brief remarks. The Commissioner re-introduced himself and updated the Board on his pass appointment as Commissioner and Virginia's Highway Safety Representative between 1994 and 2002. He also discussed his employment with the American Trucking Associations since his departure in 2002. Commissioner Holcomb discussed transportation safety and the strides Virginia has made. He thanked the Board for their dedication to the Commonwealth and looked forward to working with them in promoting highway safety in Virginia.

Secretary Mitchell addressed past action items:

- Safety belt resolution forwarded through new administration as requested.
- Information on safety seat installations and fitting stations. John Saunders addressed the Board with stats on Virginia's low income safety seat distribution and education program and permanent child safety and booster seat fitting stations.

Secretary David Mitchell furnished a brief overview of current legislation.

Chair Walter Yeatts recognized Lorraine Novak, Regional Program Manager for the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Ms. Novak gave a brief update on NHTSA's priorities for the upcoming year which will continue the focus on areas with the greatest potential to enhance safety and improve program delivery: increasing seat belt use, reducing impaired driving, speed, increasing motorcycle safety and helmet use, and improving program management.

Standing Reports

Angelisa Jennings provided an overview of crash statistics. Various discussions surrounding the decrease in fatalities developed and everyone agreed that Virginia's numbers are cause for celebration. (Lowest number since 1966.)

Eula Moore-Anderson provided the Board an updated financial report.

Closed Session

Board Chair Walter Yeatts called for a closed session for the purpose of allowing Secretary to the Board David Mitchell the opportunity to discuss a personnel matter that falls under Section §2.2-3711 of the Code of Virginia. Board Agreed.

To ensure protection of the privacy of individual(s) in personal matters, only public business matters lawfully exempt from open meeting requirements statute were discussed. (Section §2.2-3711 of the Code of Virginia) Board reconvened to open meeting and agreed that only said business matters were discussed.

<u>Board Members</u>		<u>DMV Staff</u>
Walter Yeatts	Rebecca Martin	David Mitchell
Bruce Wingo	Seldon Rhodes	John Saunders
Charles Quillin	Dee Bowles	Audrey Odum
Allen Muchnick	Richard Baugh	

New Business from Floor

Bob Weakley presented recent grant submissions:

New Grants - Smooth Operator – Washington Regional Alcohol Program for \$236,500 Tazewell County Sheriff's Office for \$14,500

Increase in Current Grant - TREDS – Traffic Records Electronic Data System for \$542,620

Board approved all three grant requests.

Action: Staff to extend invite to Board members in their localities for their Regional Grant

Workshops.

Chair Walter Yeatts proceeded with requesting members to serve on various other committees. On the Awards Committee, Bruce Wingo will serve as Chair with Dee Bowles and Charles Rosemond as committee members. (Charles Rosemond was not in attendance and will be approached by Chair.) On the Allocations Committee, Vice-Chair to the Board, Seldon Rhodes will Chair the Allocations Committee with Rebecca Martin and Richard Baugh serving as committee members. Board agreed.

Presentation

Kurt Erickson with the Washington Regional Alcohol Program furnished the Board an overview of the Checkpoint Strikeforce Campaign and discussed its success.

Dates of Future Meetings

May 20, 2010 June 17, 2010

Allocations Committee Meeting Full Board Meeting – FY10 Grant Review

DMV Headquarters – Richmond DMV Headquarters – Richmond

Awards Committee/April and Awards Ceremony/June – Actual dates to be determined.